Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


History, profile and facts about the Department of Computer Science
at Aarhus University


Computer Science started at Aarhus University in 1968 as a part of the Department of Mathematical Sciences. In the period 1993–1998, Computer Science went through a rapid growth increasing the total staff from 80 to 160 people – primarily due to a dramatic increase in the amount of external funding. An independent Department of Computer Science was created in January 1998. Over the next 5–6 years, the department gradually moved to new buildings as a part of the university’s plan to concentrate the ITC activities in the IT City Katrinebjerg. There is a close and fruitful collaboration with many other organisations at Katrinebjerg.


The department is strong in both theoretical and experimental computer science. In recent years, we have seen close cooperation between different research groups – even those which have traditionally been perceived as being far from each other (with respect to scientific goals/methods). Partly as a result of this, many projects at the department have targeted research themes and application areas that are interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary in nature

    Facts and Figures

  • Founded in 1968 as part of the Department of Mathematical Sciences
  • Became an independent department in 1998.
  • Joined at Katrinebjerg in 2000.
  • 174


  • 14 Professors
  • 16 Associate Professors
  • 12 Assistant Professors
  • 36 Post Doc
  • 73 PhD students
  • 23 Administrative employees
  • 2317

    graduated students

  • 1955 Masters of Computer Science
  • 198 Masters of IT Product Development
  • 303 PhD students
  • Updated April 2020