Aarhus University Seal


The formation of MADALGO was celebrated at an inauguration event on August 24, 2007.

The inauguration − immediately following a four day center summer school on streaming data algorithms − consisted of a scientific part in the morning and a more formal inauguration part in the afternoon.

The morning featured half-hour scientific talks by highly-recognized international researchers in the core center research areas. The afternoon featured short inauguration talks followed by a reception.

Program for the day

9:15 - 9:30 Introduction to the day
9:30 - 10:30

Jeffrey S. Vitter (Purdue University): 
I/O-efficient algorithms

Charles Leiserson (MIT): 
Cache-oblivious algorithms

10:30 - 11:00 Break
11:00 - 12:00

S. Muthu Muthukrishnan (Google): 
Streaming algorithms

Peter Sanders (Karlsruhe University): 
Algorithm engineering

12:00 - 14:00 Lunch break
14:00 - 14:30 Lars Arge, MADALGO Center Leader
14:30 - 15:00 

Klaus Bock, Chairman of the Danish National 
Research Foundation

Erik Meineche Schmidt, Dean of Science,
Aarhus University

15:00 - 17:00 Reception