FCS 2017

Workshop on Foundations of Computer Security 2017

August 21, 2017
Santa Barbara, CA, USA

Affiliated with IEEE CSF 2017

Background, aim and scope

Computer security is an established field of both theoretical and practical significance. In recent years, there has been sustained interest in the formal foundations of methods used in computer security. The aim of the FCS 2017 workshop is to provide a forum for the discussion of continued research in this area.

FCS 2017 welcomes papers on all topics related to the formal underpinnings of security and privacy, and their applications. The scope of FCS 2017 includes, but is not limited to, formal specification, analysis, and design of cryptographic protocols and their applications; formal definitions of various aspects of security such as access control mechanisms, mobile code security and denial-of-service attacks; modeling of information flow and its application to confidentiality policies, system composition, and covert channel analysis; foundations of privacy; applications of formal techniques to practical security and privacy.

We are interested in new theoretical results, in exploratory presentations that examine open questions and raise fundamental concerns about existing theories, and in the development of security/privacy tools using formal techniques. Demonstrations of tools based on formal techniques are welcome, as long as the demonstrations can be carried out on a standard digital projector (i.e., without any specialized equipment). We solicit the submission of both mature work and work in progress.

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

Automated reasoning techniques
Composition issues
Formal specification
Foundations of verification
Information flow analysis
Language-based security
Logic-based design
Program transformation
Security models
Static analysis
Statistical methods
Trust management


Access control & resource usage control
Availability and denial of service
Covert channels
Integrity and privacy
Intrusion detection
Malicious code
Mobile code
Mutual distrust
Security policies
Security protocols


08:45-09:00am Welcome
09:00-10:00am Session I (Logic)
09:00-09:30am A Query-Driven Decision Procedure for Distributed Autoepistemic Logic with Inductive Definitions.
Agustin Ambrossio and Marcos Cramer
09:30-10:00am A Sequent Calculus for Counterfactual Reasoning.
Mckenna McCall, Lay Kuan Loh, and Limin Jia
10:00-10:35am Break
10:40-12:40pm Session II (Formal guarantees)
10:40-11:10 Symbolic Security Criteria for Blockwise Adaptive Secure Modes of Encryption.
Catherine Meadows
11:10-11:40 A Verified Safe Mailbox System (Abstract).
William Mansky, Andrew Appel, and Aleksey Nogin
11:40-12:10 NARCISSUS: Deriving Correct-By-Construction Decoders and Encoders from Binary Formats.
Sorawit Suriyakarn, Clément Pit-Claudel, Benjamin Delaware, and Adam Chlipala
12:10-12:40 Towards Automatic Compartmentalization of C Programs on Capability Machines.
Stelios Tsampas, Akram El-Korashy, Marco Patrignani, Dominique Devriese, Deepak Garg, and Frank Piessens
12:40-2:00pm Lunch break
2:00-4:00pm Session III (Information flow)
2:00-2:30 Multi-core IFC Securing the space-time continuum.
Gary Soeller and Deian Stefan
2:30-3:00 Nonmalleable Information Flow Control
Ethan Cecchetti, Andrew Myers, and Owen Arden
3:00-3:30 Cryptographically Secure Information Flow Control on Key-Value Stores.
Lucas Waye, Pablo Buiras, Owen Arden, Alejandro Russo and Stephen Chong
3:30-4:00 Differential Path Cost Analysis for Detecting Side Channels.
Tegan Brennan and Tevfik Bultan
4:00pm Conclude

Important dates

Submissions due: May 21, 2017, AoE
Notification of acceptance: July 07, 2017
Final papers: TBD
Workshop: August 21, 2017


FCS 2017 welcomes two kinds of submissions:

  • full papers (at most 12 pages, excluding references and well-marked appendices)
  • abstracts (at most 1 page, excluding references and well-marked appendices)

All submissions will be peer-reviewed by the program committee listed below. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the workshop. Short papers will receive as rigorous a review as full papers. Short papers may receive shorter talk slots at the workshop than full papers, depending on the number of accepted submissions.

Papers should be formatted using the two-column IEEE proceedings style available for various document preparation systems at the IEEE Conference Publishing Services page http://www.ieee.org/conferences_events/conferences/publishing/templates.html. The first page should include the paper's title, names of authors, coordinates of the corresponding author(s), an abstract, and a list of keywords. Committee members are not required to read appendices, so papers must be intelligible without them. Papers not adhering to the page limits may be rejected without consideration of their merits.

Papers must be submitted online at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=fcs2017 in the PDF format. Please do not submit papers in any other format (e.g., Word).

Informal proceedings

The workshop has no published proceedings. Presenting a paper at the workshop should not preclude submission to or publication in other venues (before, after or concurrently with FCS 2017). Papers presented at the workshop will be made available to workshop participants, but this does not constitute an official proceedings.

Program committee

  • Mario Alvim (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)
  • Owen Arden (University of California, Santa Cruz, USA)
  • Aslan Askarov (Aarhus University, Denmark, co-chair)
  • Mounir Assaf (Stevens Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Musard Balliu (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Nataliia Bielova (INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France)
  • Marco Gaboardi (University of Buffalo, USA)
  • Joshua Guttman (MITRE corporation, USA)
  • Justin Hsu (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Thomas Jensen (INRIA Rennes, France)
  • Limin Jia (Carneggie Melon University, USA)
  • Frank Piessens (KU Leuven, Belgium)
  • William Mansky (Princeton University, USA)
  • Ron Van der Meyden (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Toby Murray (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Ralf Sasse (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Alwin Tiu (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)


The PC chairs can be contacted at the following addresses:
  • Aslan Askarov: aslan [at] cs [dot] au [dot] dk
  • Limin Jia: liminjia@ [at] cmu [dot] edu

Previous editions