Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl


Faculty at Aarhus University

Professor Lars Arge

Lars Arge is a Professor of Computer Science and Director of MADALGO funded by the Danish National Research Foundation. Lars Arge is an elected member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters and The Danish Academy of Technical Sciences, an ACM Fellow, and the recipient of the Danish Minister of Research Elite Research Award, an Ole Rømer Scholarship from the Danish National Science Research Council and a Career Award from the US National Science Foundation. 

Professor Gerth Stølting Brodal

Gerth Stølting Brodal is a Professor at the Department of Computer Science, Aarhus University, Denmark. He received his PhD in computer science in 1997 from Aarhus University for the thesis "Worst Case Efficient Data Structures''. Brodal received the first Best Lecturer Award given by the Department of Computer Science at Aarhus University in 2012.

Associate Professor Peyman Afshani

Peyman Afshani is an Associate Professor at MADALGO, Aarhus University. He received his PhD from University of Waterloo in Canada and his main areas of research are discrete and computational geometry, data structures, and algorithms.

Associate Professor Kasper Green Larsen

Kasper Green Larsen is an Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science, Aarhus University. His main research area is data structures, with an emphasis on lower bounds and range searching. He obtained his Ph.D. in 2013 from Aarhus University, where some of his most notable results include the strongest lower bounds to date in both the cell probe and group model of computation as well as the fastest data structures for several fundamental problems in the area of geometric range searching. During his Ph.D. studies he earned a number of awards, including the STOC'12 Best Paper and Best Student Paper Award, the FOCS'11 Best Student Paper Award, a Google Europe Doctoral Fellowship and the Danish Minister of Science's EliteResearch (EliteForsk) travel scholarship.

From 2007 - 2016 the following international researchers were collaborating with MADALGO

Faculty at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Professor Erik Demaine

Erik Demaine is a Professor in Computer Science at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Demaine is a Guggenheim Fellow and received the Presburger Award by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science, both in 2013. 

Professor Piotr Indyk

Piotr Indyk is a Professor in the Theory of Computation Group, MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab. In 2013 Indyk received the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award and in 2012 he was featured in the Technology Review on their annual list of 10 technologies that would change the world. 

Faculty at Max-Planck-Institute for Informatics

Professor, Dr. Kurt Mehlhorn

Kurt Mehlhorn is a Professor of Computer Science and Director of the Max-Planck-Institut for Computer Science. Mehlhorn holds three Honorary Doctorate Degrees (Otto-von-Guericke Universität, University of Waterloo and Aarhus University) and received the ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award in 2011. In 2013 Mehlhorn received the Khwarizmi International Award and in 2014 he was presented with the Erasmus Medal, Academia Europea and became Foreign Associate, National Academy of Engineering. 

Faculty at Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Professor, Dr. Ulrich Meyer

Ulrich Meyer is a Professor at the Institute for Computer Science at the Goethe University Frankfurt am Main - Institute for Computer Science. Meyer received the Selected Landmark 2011 in the Land of Ideas for the project EcoSort - Energy-efficient Sorting. Since 2014 he is coordinating the new priority programme "Algorithms for Big Data" (SPP 1736) funded by the German Research Foundation.