Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Advisory board

Professor Pankaj K. Agarwal

Pankaj Agarwal is Chair and RJR Nabisco Professor of Computer Science at Duke University. He is a lead authority on geometric computing and its applications to various fields, including GIS, ecological modeling, spatial databases, and robotics. An ACM Fellow and a Sloan Fellow, he has authored four books and more than 275 scientific papers, and he serves on the editorial boards of many journals. In 2013 Pankaj was appointed honorary doctor at Faculty of Science and Technology, Aarhus University.

Professor Giuseppe F. Italiano

Giuseppe Italiano is Professor of Computer Science and Chair of the Department of Computer Science, Systems and Production at University of Rome "Tor Vergata". He is also the Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Journal of Experimental Algorithmics. He has published more than 150 scientific papers on theoretical as well as applied algorithmic problems.

Professor J. Ian Munro

Ian Munro is University Professor and Canada Research Chair in Algorithms Design in the School of Computer Science at the University of Waterloo.  His research is in the area of algorithms and data structures, most notably on space efficient computation. He has published more than 150 scientific papers in this field, as well as on their application in areas such as bioinfomatics, database systems and data warehousing. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and of the ACM.

Research Scientist Muthu Muthukrishnan

Muthu Muthukrishnan is a Research Scientist at Google New York, on leave from a Professor of Computer Science position at Rutgers University where he heads up the Massive Data Analysis Lab. He is a main force in the area of streaming algorithms and their application is e.g. database systems. He has published more than 200 scientific papers.

Professor Peter Sanders

Peter Sanders is a Professor of Computer Science at Karlsruhe University and a main force in the area of algorithm engineering. He is e.g. heading up a major 9 Million Euro Deutche Forschungsgemeinschaft priority program on algorithm engineering, which includes 21 groups at major German universities. Much of his works concerns processing massive data sets (e.g., graphs, text) on memory hierarchies and in parallel. He has published around 100 scientific papers in journals and conference papers.

Professor Jeffrey Scott Witter

Professor Jeffrey Scott Vitter

Jeff Vitter is Chancellor of the University of Mississippi, where he also holds the title of Distinguished Professor of Computer and Information Science.  In a 1988 paper with Aggarwal, he effectively founded the ongoing area of I/O-efficient algorithms; for a number of years he has been the main authority in the area. He has published well over 300 scientific papers on the design and analysis of algorithms, in particular involving big data, databases, data compression, compressed data structures, randomized algorithms, and machine learning.  He is a Fulbright Scholar and a Fellow of the AAAS, ACM, IEEE, and Guggenheim Foundation.